2020 Toyota RAV4 Review #2

2022-02-16
41
99
2020 Toyota RAV4 Review #2 - SUV, 5th generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 149 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, CVT | Consumer Report, photo 1

Specifications:

  • 2020 Toyota RAV4
  • Vehicle Year: 2020
  • SUV
  • 5th generation
  • Petrol engine, 2 l., 149 horsepower
  • Four-wheel drive
  • CVT
  • Steering wheel Left
  • 2020 Toyota RAV4 Review #2 - SUV, 5th generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 149 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, CVT | Consumer Report, photo 1

Expand

Collapse

Consumer Report

As it is customary to write here, here I am ripe for a review on my car, although I had only read it before. In addition to altruism, this was facilitated by infection with the coronavirus - being at home in isolation (including from the family) there is more time, even taking into account remote work ... All further thoughts are my evaluative opinion, which does not claim to be the ultimate truth.

So, following the local tradition, let's start with the "pangs of choice" and a brief digression into the previously available cars. Before RAV4-2020, Mazda CX-5 was owned (2016 restyled, 2.5-liter engine, maximum speed), before it - Mazda CX-5 (2012, 2.0-liter engine, maximum speed) - I will compare with them, because classmates. Even earlier - Skoda Superb (2010 onwards, 6 months of ownership, did not really taste it), Hyundai i30 (mixed feelings) and right-handed Toyota Coralla Luxel with a 1.8 liter engine. (My most trouble-free car, for 3 years and more than 40,000 mileage, only routine maintenance, I didn’t even fix the hodovka).

About the choice: there was no objective reason to change the Mazda CX-5, the car was in excellent condition, in terms of efficiency and dynamics, and there were no complaints about other qualities (almost, it will be seen later in the comparison), but the total tenure of the CX-5 was two types at the age of 5 made itself felt - I just wanted something new and that's it.

I considered a used Toyota Highlander (I didn’t like the feeling of a heavy big car, although the dynamics are normal, as well as high consumption and stupid multimedia), Hyundai Tucson (I didn’t like the dorestyle even with a 2.4 liter engine, namely the interior of the car and a harsh ride ) and almost decided to stop at the Hyundai Santa Fe (although I didn’t like the dynamics of 2.4 liters of gasoline, I didn’t consider diesel due to recommendations and prejudices), but I listened to a friend - a fan of Toyota - and went for a test drive of the new RAV4-2020, after which on the same day I again drove Santa Fe - and on the way back I returned to Toyota and ordered the car that I am now writing a review for. Here is such a purchase, one can say on emotions ... At the same time, I should note that I did not like the previous generation of RAV4 at all - neither outside, nor even inside.

On the test drive of the RAV4-2020, I first drove a “long circle” of several kilometers (including the track) on a 2.0 engine with a CVT - specifically to compare with my Mazda CX-5 with a 2.5 liter engine. (192 hp). And only then I drove an already shortened circle on the RAV4 with a 2.5 liter engine. with a classic machine. Impressions: a 2.0 engine is enough for most situations, both in the city and on the highway (taking into account the fact that I drive on the highway at a speed of 100-110 km / h and overtaking I can accelerate to 130-140 km / h, no more) . At the same time, the RAV4 with a 2.5 liter engine. the machine is strangely tuned - it seemed that someone grabs the back of the car and holds it as soon as you reduce the pressure on the gas pedal (perhaps it immediately tries to go up into gear or HZ what is the reason) - in general, after the CX-5 with the engine 2.5 l. Toyota with the same engine "didn't drive", which made an overpayment for it 400 thousand rubles. compared to the version with 2.0 liters and CVT meaningless.

After 3 weeks of waiting (it was lucky that everything happened before the quarantine), a car made in 2020 arrived. in the maximum configuration for that time for a 2.0-liter engine. Currently running 7400 km. and 9 months, so the general impressions have already been formed.

In terms of dynamics: I still think that it is enough for both the city and the highway (especially considering the upcoming fines and cameras in every hole in 2021), but the hum of the variator is certainly annoying. The same engine on a Hyundai Tucson with a classic automatic feels much more pleasant, although the time is exactly the same. Otherwise (except for the hum), the differences between the variator and the automatic for me, who used to drive only on the “automatic”, are invisible - I don’t notice any kicks when switching from a manual transmission to a variator belt, even with active acceleration from a standstill. On the move, the variator picks up speed also normally, there are no complaints when overtaking on the highway. At the same time, the variator is definitely more economical than the automatic machine - the previous cars consumed more gasoline (by checks, not by the on-board computer).

Consumption: on the highway in the above mode - 6.5-7.0 liters. depending on the load of the car and weather conditions. In the city - from 9.5 liters. without plugs up to 12.0 l. with nausea. The total average consumption for 7,400 km on checks is 708 liters of 95th gasoline, of which I drove about 2,400 km along the highway. Apparently, quarantine and summer, during which the roads were free, had an effect.

Hodovka: excellent comfort (much more comfortable than the CX-5, even restyled) and normal handling, no rolls in corners. Of course, this is not a driver's car, but of all the cars that I had, I like the new RAV4 the most. Even on dubious roads, suspension breakdown is very difficult to obtain.

Ergonomics and general impressions: those who consider Toyotas to be greedy mean people have every reason for this. Yes, there is a heated steering wheel, but it is only in the "nerd" grip area on the right and left. It will be cold from below and above until it warms up from the air in the cabin or from your numb hands. There is a beautiful blue backlight in the cabin (leg areas, above the glove box and in the center where wireless charging is), but of the buttons on the driver's door, only the driver's window button is illuminated. Good LED light (unlensed, therefore worse than on the same Tucson for less money, but better than it was in the CX-5 restyling package even with lenses), but smelly yellow halogen foglights, which are dumb to turn on, as the collective farm looks from the side -collective farm against the background of crystal-white head lights. There is an electric trunk, but it is terribly slow, it would be better if it wasn’t (this seems to be everyone who could write and tell). A tolerable radio tape recorder (the sound is also cardboard, as in the CX-5, but it seems a bit cleaner, and the equalizer is more adequate), but creepy uncomfortable little control buttons - like the climate control buttons in general (except for the knobs, there are no complaints about them). There is a navigation button, but the navigation itself in the car for 2.2+ million rubles. no, even for an extra charge (now it seems to have appeared in PrestigeSafety with unnecessary assistants to boot).

A small digression about the sound - I saw a representative of Toyota on YouTube at Pavel Blyudenov, who said that there is no RAV4 in Russia with JBL acoustics due to the fact that it does not get along with the GLONASS ERA. An amazing fact - useless nonsense interferes with the installation of normal sound in one of the most popular cars ...

There are no complaints about seat heating - it heats well, both the front and rear seats. At the same time, archaic mechanical front heating buttons (two positions - up and down) allow you to leave the heating forcibly turned on, i.e. on autostart, the front seats are already heated. The steering wheel heating button is also physical, you can also leave it on. Whether the rear seat heating remains to work - I don’t know, I didn’t check it.

The overall heating of the cabin is also pleasing. Both CX-5s that I had frank problems with warming up - on the automatic climate control setting, they did not start blowing warm until you drove at high speeds for a long time (and don't care about a warm engine), you had to manually increase the airflow, and it still warmed badly (the cabin filter changed often, it’s not the point). Now in RAV4 I am finally comfortable in the cold season.

I can also note quite comfortable seats - in the CX-5 they were uncomfortable (especially in the dorestyle, they were flat like a pancake, everything hurt on a long road). Of course, the seats are even better in the Highlander, but this is a completely different class.

Even before the purchase, I heard a brilliant phrase from Avtorevisorro - RAV4 for those who do not care about cars, that is, for those who are not fans of them, and they just need a reliable means of moving in space. This is probably true (although the same design of the new RAV4 has become much more interesting and aggressive). Overall, I think the RAV4 is a smart choice given its liquidity, residual value, economy, and overall good qualities as a car, despite minor flaws. If I were to make a choice again now, I would take it again. As for reliability, it is not yet clear how the new engine (derated from 170+ hp to 149.6 hp) and the new gearbox (variator with 1st mechanical gear) will behave, so I issued an extended warranty up to 5 years at 0TO . I'll update my review later if I need to use it.

P.S. Definitely a handy thing - heated windshield. At the same time, you get used to the heating grid in the glass quickly and no longer pay attention to it.

P.P.S. Winter tires were installed by Michelin X-ICE north 4 on the recommendation of a good friend - definitely excellent studded tires, less noisy than Nokia Hakkapelliitta 8 and there are no complaints about grip. Who is thinking about which one to take - I recommend it, if it is acceptable for the money.

Winter city operation

A small addition following the results of winter urban operation. For the “crowned” November 2020, the mileage was only 300 km., The consumption of AI-95 gasoline was 12.33 liters. per 100 km. (brand "Reaktiv" TopLine, by check, without warming up for autorun). For December 2020, mileage is 650 km., Consumption is 15.85 liters. per 100 km. - also on checks, the same fuel, warming up before trips for 5-7 minutes. That is, in winter, on New Year's Eve, it is crowded on the roads, without trips along the highway, the consumption is large enough for a 2-liter car, you should not expect miracles of savings from the variator.

When traveling at -32 on the highway for 600 km. consumption averaged 8.5 liters. per 100 km. - apparently, lubricating fluids become more viscous, it is felt that it is difficult for the car to go even in gentle modes at 100-110 km / h. On the same trip, the features of winter climate control were revealed: it blows cool in the upper zone (head) (the A / C compressor and the windshield were turned off). As a result, the glass does not tighten, but the head is not very comfortable. The solution is a thin autumn hat, or manually change the airflow mode, well, or score and keep your head cool =) In lesser frosts, there is no such problem, it is comfortable in the car. But it’s not hot - in the wife’s Hyundai Tucson, the heating is much more active, hot air blows from the vents, while in the RAV4 it’s warm, no more.

On uncleaned city roads (immediately after a snowfall), it is comfortable to drive, the car does not throw from side to side, does not crawl, it confidently enters turns at reasonable speeds. It even makes me nervous when others drive wrong and are stupid =) In fairness, it’s worth saying that the previous CX-5 behaved no worse, the only difference was in the quality of winter tires (the Nordman 5 was on the CX-5, as far as I remember, it became oak in the cold, apparently the rubber mixture is not very good on this rubber), but the four-wheel drive also showed itself well even without two clutches on the rear axle.

Separately, I want to note the heating of the entire windshield - a wonderful thing in snowfall at -15: the photo shows the border of the heating spirals, behind them everything is in ice stains, and the glass itself is ideally cleaned with brushes. You just have to remember to clean the wipers from ice after you get to the place so that they don’t freeze after turning off the heating. The heating button is non-latching (unlike the steering wheel heating), that is, it will not work to leave the glass heating on from autorun.

Heated rear seats - also cannot be left on from auto start, you need to turn it on again every time.

2020 Toyota RAV4 Review #2 - SUV, 5th generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 149 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, CVT | Consumer Report, photo 2

TO-10000

At the end of January 2021, TO-10000 passed - a little earlier, since a year has already passed since the purchase. The MOT itself cost ~ 12,300 rubles. with a 7% discount from the official. The meaning of this addition is that in winter, compared to the Tucson, my wife drew attention to the incorrect inclination of the headlights (see photo). There is no headlight range control in the RAV4, so you won’t be able to change something on your own. They checked it, confirmed the problem and fixed it. No additional fee required. The result of the adjustment is in the second photo.

2020 Toyota RAV4 Review #2 - SUV, 5th generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 149 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, CVT | Consumer Report, photo 3
2020 Toyota RAV4 Review #2 - SUV, 5th generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 149 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, CVT | Consumer Report, photo 4

About the CASCO price

Looking through the comments I saw a discussion of the cost of CASCO, so I decided to share my experience.

He issued CASCO upon purchase for the 1st year of operation - the insurance premium amounted to approximately 70,000 rubles. with the sum insured in the purchase price, deductible 30,000 from the second insured event. I took out a similar policy for the 2nd year, the insurance coverage decreased slightly, but the price of the policy also decreased to ~ 64,000 rubles.

For a one-class Hyundai Tucson, the wife of CASCO at the same insurance company on the same conditions cost ~ 44,000 rubles. Therefore, yes, CASCO for Toyota is more expensive, who is thinking about purchasing such a car - this must be taken into account in the calculations.

TO-20000

Nothing interesting happened, as it should be when owning a Toyota =) TO-20000 cost 15,066 with a 7% discount from the officials. For comparison: 13,000 rubles were spent on the TO-15000 on my wife's Hyundai Tucson a month earlier, however, there were 3 officials of this brand in Omsk, and I chose the cheapest option. In addition, 5w30 is poured into the Tucson, and 0w20 into the RAV4, which is more expensive.

By service interval: when I had a Hyundai i30 and I told a friend that now I can do MOT every 15,000 km. he asked me a question: do you really think that the Koreans made a better engine than the Japanese? Therefore, even on a Korean, I changed the oil at least once every 10,000 km. Hyundai officials also recommend an intermediate oil change at 7500 km. Therefore, if someone wants to drive a car for a long time and save on the service interval, it is unlikely that it will work out so as not to harm the car.

In October, I switched to G-Drive - 95, it felt better to drive (my wife also noticed this on her Tucson). There is nothing more to tell - the car just drives and does not require attention.

Ergonomic Features

Separately, I decided to share my impressions about a particular case of the Japanese understanding of ergonomics. The epigraph can be a quote from the film "DMB": "The one who invented this should hammer a nail in the head."

The gas tank opening lever is located on the bottom left under the steering wheel - to the left (almost close to the driver's door) of the hood opening lever that feels exactly the same to the touch. And when the hand goes down, it just hits the hood opening lever.

The result is predictable - at the gas station we pull the wrong one, we swear, we open the second one, we go to close the hood. If you are in a hurry and forgot about the hood - a car squeaking on the go and the need for an urgent stop to correct the situation.

Over time, you get used to pulling not the one that first fell under your arm, but to the left of it. But sometimes you forget in a hurry - and you refresh this simple rule in your memory.

Replacement of standard acoustics RAV4 - 2020

In January of this year, 2022, on the way to work, I became extremely sad from the “quality” of the music played by the initially installed head unit and speakers. I began to look for possible improvement options and found an interesting option in one of the logbooks on another site: install Focal speakers (in the photo: front ones with tweeters, rear ones without them), and these models, since they are installed in Toyota seats without modifications . In addition, the author of that review indicated that he had replaced the head unit and soundproofed the doors.

I had a hope to get by with just speakers and soundproofing, but it didn’t work out - the “native” head unit produces a disgusting sound even on good speakers. Therefore, I ordered a slightly different “head”, but from the same well-known site from a “friendly” country (the model is in the photo).

General impressions: the sound has become much better, incomparably with the originally installed one. Now you can enjoy listening to music. A customizable equalizer allows you to radically change the sound, I settled on the preset “Rock”, with it the bass sounds great and the vocals are heard well. Of course, the quality does not reach the sound of JBL in the new Camry (probably in the old ones too - I didn’t listen to them), but not far from it and in such a budget it would hardly be possible to do something better (70,000 rubles, of which : 15,000 - "shumka" doors, 30,000 - speakers, 25,000 - "head" with installation). In Omsk offices, which I called for the sake of interest, for "car audio" they called me a price of 160,000 rubles. It is clear that there would be a "shumka" of everything around, and the sound would be much more interesting, but I am not ready to spend so much money on this whim.

Negative moments: the Chinese “head” is infrequent, but it sometimes presents surprises - it will freeze tightly (even the rear view camera does not turn on), it seems to work, but there is no sound. The cure for this is a toothpick that can be poked into the RST hole to force the device to reboot. Now she is always at hand =)

In fairness, it’s worth saying that there were no problems with installing the “head” - it comes with a frame and fasteners, as well as a bunch of different wires and adapters (including the adapter necessary for the operation of the “native” Toyota rear view camera - the one , which has a yellow tulip entrance). The “native” rear view camera has a terrible resolution, the picture from it looks disgusting on the new “head”, which has everything in order with the screen resolution, but I did not want to install the camera that comes with the “head” - I would have to do all the wiring to the camera to change and she herself does not look as neat as the "native". If you leave the “native” Toyota rear view camera, keep in mind that you can’t poke at changing the type of markup (in the lower right corner of the screen when reverse gear is turned on) - you won’t return it back, you will have to put the Toyota “head” back and change it there, such a glitch.

With this Chinese “head”, the “native” USB input below the panel, next to wireless charging, through which Apple Car Play / Android Auto is implemented, also works without problems. Therefore, I didn’t even bother with the “head” settings - for my purposes, it’s enough to connect the phone and start music / navigation, etc. from it. Although there is a full-fledged Android on the “head” and you can install everything on it yourself. It is also possible to install a SIM card there (the slot on the extension cord is displayed in the glove box) and distribute the Internet to passengers from the “head”, but I don’t need this, so I didn’t use it.

When connecting the "head", you need to select the CAN-bus settings for RAV4, and you can also configure many system issues - the volume of the sound source (if you do not change anything, then at level 5-6 you can already go deaf on especially energetic compositions), displaying information on the screen , pressing buttons, etc. - I didn’t rummage much in this menu, I’m not a fan. For my purposes, the out-of-the-box settings are enough.

Bottom line: if I were to start it all over again, I would look for information about whether it is possible to find somewhere a “head” from the European version of the RAV4 with a JBL amplifier and “marry” it with Focal speakers - the result would be clearly better in terms of stability, and with given the connection of Apple Car Play / Android Auto, I would be satisfied. Theoretically, there may be problems in working with Era Glonass (see the main review), but there is no such thing in Camry, so maybe I didn’t try to implement this option in vain. If anyone succeeds, please write in the comments. This feedback helps others make choices and options to improve/maintain the machine. Well, in general - I am extremely pleased with the result with the Chinese "head".

Offtopic: in May, on a long weekend, I went to Novosibirsk with my wife and two children, I didn’t experience problems with overtaking trucks on the highway - you just need to get used to the fact that “gas to the floor” is required and not be afraid of engine speed under 6,000, then they quickly subside - without this, there is no way on the variator. And then the set speed is sufficient to overtake even several heavy trucks.

2020 Toyota RAV4 Review #2 - SUV, 5th generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 149 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, CVT | Consumer Report, photo 5
2020 Toyota RAV4 Review #2 - SUV, 5th generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 149 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, CVT | Consumer Report, photo 6
2020 Toyota RAV4 Review #2 - SUV, 5th generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 149 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, CVT | Consumer Report, photo 7
2020 Toyota RAV4 Review #2 - SUV, 5th generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 149 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, CVT | Consumer Report, photo 8
2020 Toyota RAV4 Review #2 - SUV, 5th generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 149 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, CVT | Consumer Report, photo 9

Year of car purchase: 2020

Mileage: 4599 mi. (7400 km.)

Fuel consumption on the highway:

  • 34 miles per gallon (US)
  • 40 miles per gallon (UK)
  • 7.0 l/100km

Fuel consumption in the city:

  • 21 miles per gallon (US)
  • 26 miles per gallon (UK)
  • 11.0 l/100km

Category: 2020 Toyota RAV4 Reviews

Author: Vitaliy

Views: 46

41
99

Comments

99
Add a comment
1
18202306 2022-02-17 (12:16)

Vorotnikovs, power engineers, klikonkars, foxes rule, etc. this is all the bottom of YouTube. These are people who make money by signing. If a comparison of dynamic indicators is really interesting, then this is definitely not for Vorotkov and his brethren. You need to watch something like AUTO VRN. Camrys come there with all kinds of engines, mostly 3.5. You can roughly understand how she actually rides.

V
Vladimir26 2022-02-17 (12:16)

That's all your arguments, as always, by the way ... Who is who, here has long been known to everyone.

1
18202306 2022-02-17 (12:16)

200 Nm is the same as 250 Nm, the grass is as red as raspberries and the water is as dry as sand. The barrel is smaller on the outside than on the inside. What else will surprise you?

V
Vinni-dzhons 2022-02-17 (12:16)

Dx5 2.5 to raf 2.0 is crazy. Sam proezdil Rafik 20goda 2.5l half a year and sold it to hell. Terrible car. No noise, no music, no taxiing, no dynamics, no plastic, no paintwork, mirrors shake, the hood cracks, the box kicks. But what a price! Toyota is cheating us!

V
Vladimir26 2022-02-17 (12:16)

Tomorrow your Collar will have exactly the opposite, (as has happened more than once) how will you change your shoes then? I have always been amused by the same theorists as the breeze, studying cars from pictures and "Utuba"

1
18202306 2022-02-17 (12:16)

So look at this table yourself))). What do you see there? Please note that the small 1.4 tsi rides on elasticity like its older brother 2.0 tsi.

A
Aleksandr_diz 2022-02-17 (12:16)

Just now: Hello! They don't say anything specific :/ They are going to take apart the fuel tank and see what is filled in there. If I understood correctly A ......., they called Shell from the service, they said that they would open the tank, you can send your representative to make sure of the quality. Shell replied that they were confident in their fuel and no one would come😅

L
Lariman 2022-02-17 (12:16)

Dad's car. Do not drive in winter. It is under the house that they will kick it and there therefore I advised to buy 21 years after the winter, and this one was in good + sold

L
Lariman 2022-02-17 (12:16)

I don’t know, but against the general positive background, it seemed to me a lot of dust penetrates through the 5th door and the paintwork is wretched, all chipped on the left side for 5 months.

T
Totktonada 2022-02-17 (12:16)

2.2 is certainly a little expensive, but given the fee for the brand and "Toyota does not break", probably an adequate price. As for me, the car looks boring for the money, but there is a sense of quality and quality factor. With the era of GLONASS and JBL muddy history. At one time, I looked closely at the Kia Soul, where JBL and, essno, EraGlonass stood at the maximum. And it seemed to get along. Why Toyota does not get along is a question.

Add a comment