2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44

2021-08-15
57
23
2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 1

Specifications:

  • 2009 Toyota RAV4
  • Vehicle Year: 2009
  • SUV
  • Petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower
  • Four-wheel drive
  • Automatic
  • Steering wheel Left
  • 2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 1
  • 2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 2
  • 2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 3
  • 2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 4
  • 2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 5
  • 2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 6
  • 2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 7
  • 2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 8
  • 2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 9
  • 2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 10
  • 2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 11
  • 2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 12

Expand

Collapse

Consumer Report

Good day, my readers. I offer you my next 10th review on this portal. Five months ago I sold my 2007 RAV4. Three years lived with the past Ravik, review

, left good memories of him, even despite the considerable funds invested in replacing some worn components. A normal workhorse, not without flaws, of course. The biggest disadvantage for me was a rather modest trunk. After the huge barn of our family Toyota Picnic

I had to put up with such a compartment for storing modest luggage. For trips to work and the cottage was enough. However, when, for example, they were going to the mountains in winter, they scored to the eyeballs, barely - barely enough. Alpine skiing in the amount of three pairs was attached to the rails, but there was no room left for the eldest son's snowboard. I climbed into the trunk only with damage to the head of the third passenger in the rear seat. When I set out to update the technique, one of the criteria was a more spacious trunk.

The main direction of the search is the long-wheelbase RAVik, as a backup option - Honda TsRV. Surprisingly, RAV sold quickly after the ad was placed. In the second week, the car was already taken away after the preview. And the price did not have to be greatly reduced, largely due to the fact that he left a two-din DVD receiver, which he installed instead of the head unit. Since the car for the acquisition by that time had already been selected, on the same day he became the owner of the hero of our story. It turned out interesting, I sold the RAV with a mileage of 126 thousand, I bought it with 122 thousand on the odometer. Became the 4th owner. The previous third owner left for two years, bought a car from a Toyota showroom, where the second owner handed it over. This is what bribed me. It was evident that in addition to the pleasant surface of asphalt roads under the previous owners, it got a fair share of steppes and gravel roads. The former owner was fond of hunting, even found a spent cartridge case in the trunk later. From the inheritance: not critical, but noticeably corroded by small chips of paint, the front hood, windshield (in cracks, it is necessary to change in the future), the lower parts of the plastic sidewalls of the arches, thresholds. Visible only up close, not fatal. For iron, the body is whole, not broken - this is the main thing. When asked if the oil was eating up, the owner replied that, mainly at high speeds, over 120. On a test drive, even during the preview, there were no special questions. Yes, and what can be seen or heard for several kilometers, There is a certain amount of luck. In the price, the seller threw off 20 pieces from the original price of 950.

Of the differences between the standard and extended RAVs.

In the cabin, the increase in legroom in the second row is striking. According to the passport - 6.5 cm. With my height of 185 cm in the previous RAV, he sat down behind himself with his feet back to back, now it's free. And what is especially important, the length of the trunk has increased by 11 cm. Of course, it did not reach the volume of the trunk of our Picnic, which is the starting "stove" for us, but, let's say, the same snowboard across diagonally already fits. I was pleased that under the raised floor of the trunk there are not plastic compartments for small things, but a large compartment where you can stuff a bunch of all sorts of useful junk, comparable in volume to the Ipsum underground. Another nice thing is the leather-wrapped seats.

According to the set of options. Those that were not in the standard configuration of the short RAV. You quickly get used to good things. For example, to keyless access. Wrap your fingers around the door handle and immediately the door locks are unlocked. I got used to it so much that when landing in our Picnic, I automatically began to do the same. Next, the automatic inclusion of the wipers when it rains. In general, the idea is not bad. But, sometimes, with not very intense rain, they wave at maximum speed. Minus - do not determine sticking wet snow. You have to briefly turn on the manual fast mode. Once I left them in the machine in dry weather, I forgot to turn it off. He began to wipe the glass around the sensor with a wet rag, got his hands on the wipers. Understood the reason in a couple of seconds. In place of the manufacturer, turning on the wipers in automatic mode would have been made a separate function. Another useful feature

Driving sensations. By and large, the suspension is the same car. However, due to the longer base by 10 cm, the harsh reaction of the rear suspension to more or less deep potholes in the pavement and the like is no longer felt so sharply. Although the suspension itself did not become softer. At the same time, the excellent stability of the RAV on asphalt has not changed in any way. An increase of 18 horses, even with an increase in total weight of 80 kg, allows you to feel more confident when overtaking. I noticed that the soundproofing has become better. The engine is barely audible, several times I could not determine whether it was running. Despite this, after the purchase, I gave it to the service, made additional soundproofing of the front doors. Not for nothing, the cabin has become even quieter.

I want to write about the difference in fuel consumption. More precisely, practically, in the absence of this difference. Apparently, when traveling in the same modes as on the old RAV, a larger engine does not require such efforts as on a 2-liter counterpart. I use mainly AI-92. For the first months, I sometimes worked with the 95th, but I did not see any benefit in this. For many years, I have been carefully monitoring the consumption on my various cars, periodically filling up to the neck, and marking the mileage. Personally, this is interesting to me. By numbers. On Bridgestone 7000 studded tires in winter in highway mode up to 120 km / h, the consumption is 10 liters (when the weather is warm) or a little more in cold weather. Mixed, rather more urban, mode - in the region of 12.6-13.4 liters per hundred, depending on the magnitude of the minus on the street, taking into account the fact that, due to the nature of work, you often have to travel daily in the mode of short journeys and at the same time do not have time to warm up to engine operating temperature. In April, Goodyear Wrangler switched to all-season shoes. Mixed consumption fell to 11.5-11.8, I haven’t traveled much on the highway yet. I want to note that the regular computer underestimates the real consumption to 0.6 liters on the highway and up to 0.7-1.3 liters in the city. It was about the same with the old RAV.

What was done according to the RAV in five months.

1. Installed visor on the windows of the side doors. For effective ventilation in rainy weather.

2. Purchased in the online store rubber mat in the trunk. It is strange that the manufacturer does not initially complete the car with such a necessary thing in our conditions. It is interesting that you can buy such a rug only in online stores with delivery from Moscow and St. Petersburg. I found a cheaper option from Moscow, but paid for it by waiting for delivery in three weeks due to the sluggishness of the company's managers. Parcels from Vladivostok a week, a maximum of 10 days go.

3. Regular CD-receiver was replaced by DVD in the original panel, even the colors of the plastic matched. I also bought it in an online store in Vladivostok - representatives of the Chinese manufacturer K-Size. I took a model worth around 17.5 thousand. It could have been more expensive, for 20-ku to take with the sixth Android. But I'm not that advanced user. Enough version 4.4.2 and the presence of fresh Navitel. If you have an Internet card, you can activate a regular Google navigator, but it is not necessary yet. If only I go abroad by car. I have been using the device for more than two months, it's normal. Very rarely, it happens that it freezes when you turn off, and then turn on the power with the ignition key. You have to turn it off manually again, then it loads normally. I also don’t like that new music files on a flash drive are sent to the end of the playlist, and not by numbering. You have to update the entire folder on the flash drive. On devices based on the Windows platform, all files are played in numerical order, regardless of when they were downloaded. But these are minor things that do not affect the overall positive picture.

4. Installed LED running lights (removed from an old car before selling). I found in the mounting block the place where the plus was supplied when the ignition was turned on, in order to power them on. When you turn on the dipped beam, they, as expected, turn off.

5. Based on operating experience, RAV was ready for current investments in hodovka. The previous owner honestly admitted that it was time to replace the right front hub with a bearing. I also began to catch signs of this with my ear on the first trips. Despite the fact that he had already had to replace the left hub. The hub was replaced after a month and a half. I put a Chinese-made Torque, in the store, if there was a choice, it was recommended that it be before the Korean one. On the previous RAV, I also changed the front hubs in the region of 111 thousand mileage. On the suspension, after checking, the internal silent blocks of the front suspension were replaced (there were cracks), as well as the internal ones on the rear (backlash). Installed polyurethane. Checked by more than one year of operation on the previous RAV and Picnic. Replaced left front strut. In the winter it tapped, it turned out to be leaking. When replacing the rack, they saw that the left axle shaft seal on the box was sweating with oil. Pressed in a new one.

6. I noticed that the paint on the thresholds and lower edges of the front doors was sandblasted over the previous years of operation. You can't see it from a distance, but up close it's a paler hue. Picked up in the paint shop color by number. Sprayed with varnish. I also updated the plastic lining of the rear arches in places, in areas where road pebbles hit the most. I painted in some places a badly scratched plastic casing at the bottom of the front bumper. Now nothing gives the age of the car in these places. I also plan to paint the hood in the workshop for the same reason and install a fly swatter on it.

7. Processing the leather of the seats with a cleaning conditioner, tinting in some places the plastic scratched by the previous owners in the trunk, polishing. Salon began to look closer to the original new state. I found a source of rattling sound in the left niche behind the rear wheel - a reversing signal speaker dangled on the wires and beat against the body. Fastened with a clamp. On the other side of the trunk, on the go, a not particularly loud clicking sound is sometimes heard, in the area of ​​\u200b\u200bthe right niche. I laid a jack, a rear window washer tube, and wires with a soft thermal insulating material. He touched everything under the skin, where the hand climbed. Rocking the car left and right, up and down, even three adults could not simulate the sound. But as soon as you start moving, it clicks. The suspension has nothing to do with it - everything is ideal there. Mystery. While he scored.

Faced with the problem of engine oil consumption. The previous owner used Castrol. I filled in Shell Helix Ultra 5w30. I have been using this oil on all my Toyotas since 2003. No questions arose, the minimum consumption of waste. It's my personal opinion. Here, for 6 thousand runs, I have already added one liter. Especially it took a lot when driving at speeds of 110-120 kph / h for several hours on the highway. I decided to take advantage of decarbonization, bought it, drove it to the service station. The service master, having understood why I want to do this, began to dissuade me, because I could bring the engine to overhaul in this way, since I would wash off the entire oil film. Said the engine runs smoothly. Suggested to check the compression. It turned out, from 10.2 to 11 atm. More or less normal numbers. Naturally, valve stem seals were also considered as the culprit, but they decided to start with a simple one. On his recommendation, he filled in Shell 5v40 synthetics, let's see how thicker oil will go. At the same time, I replaced the spark plugs NGK BKR6EIX-11P at 795 rubles apiece. Obviously, relatives were still standing behind 126 thousand.

That, perhaps, is all that I wanted to share. Naturally, when interesting and valuable additions appear, I will introduce them to you. As I now think, I took the car not for a year or two, but for a much longer period (we will think about new cars from the salon as our well-being grows). Everything or almost everything that I need in a car is here. RAV - a car without vivid emotions, this is not Forik, for example. The main thing is that this is a reliable device, and a fairly comfortable vehicle on flat roads with some attempts at off-road capability. And yet, the all-wheel drive Ipsum in the 26th body remains close to ideal for me, but it didn’t grow together ...

A photo:

1-5.12 - general photos,

6- our RAV4 and Picnic,

7-RAV4 standard (I had the same one earlier, only without pipes at the thresholds) and RAV4 long,

8 - DVD receiver,

9 - trunk with a new rug,

10 - trunk floor,

11 - sound insulation in the front doors,

13 - for those who have not seen what RAV has under the hood.

How I defeated the increased oil consumption on the 2AZ and improved sound insulation. Exploitation

Greetings to all readers of the continuation of my review.

During the past five or six months from the date of the previous narrative, several events have occurred that I would like to tell you about. After a year of operation, I can say that, in principle, I am satisfied with the machine. However, it was necessary to invest a certain amount of funds in bringing some nodes into the proper form and perform some useful refinement. But first things first.

As I already wrote, the number one problem for me was increased oil consumption. An attempt to switch to a thicker Shell HelixUltra 5w40 oil did not bring the expected effect. For 7 thousand kilometers, the engine additionally ate about 2 liters of oil. It turned out that changing the viscosity of the applied small did not help in any way. Moreover, the lion's share of this consumption fell on the highway mode, which is quite natural for the stuck rings. For example, 1000 km from Krasnoyarsk and back is about 0.7 liters, the rest I got in slower urban and suburban modes. Of course, such a situation with the constant topping up of rather expensive synthetics did not suit me. From reading the forum of ravovods about the oil burner on 2AZ-FE, one may get the opinion that this is a disease of this type of engine. But as it turned out, this is far from the case. At least not with the same as mine in the region of 130 t.km. run. A month ago, it was ripe for more drastic measures. The decoking procedure was as follows. The composition of the production of one well-known domestic enterprise was poured into the cylinders overnight (engine preparation and the process are well described in the instructions for the preparation). In the morning, the servicemen pumped out the liquid from the cylinders, screwed in the old candles (which I prudently saved from the replacement), drained the old oil, filled in Lukoil synthetics, especially cheaper, because. it will come in about 1000 km. replace again. Started the engine. According to them, from the combustion of deposits dissolved in the liquid in the cylinders from the exhaust pipe, for a long time there was a strong smell of non-combustion products, then the smell slowly dissipated. After that, the candles were replaced again with fresh ones. I, after I took the car, also felt the remnants of this smell for about half a day. By the end of the day, the cylinders seemed to be sufficiently cleaned, the smell of the exhaust returned to normal. He did not say that something has changed significantly in the operation of the engine. Perhaps a little smoother began to work. The next day I went to the service, where they washed the throttle assembly for prevention. We measured the compression in the cylinders - it remained in the same parameters. Even when changing the oil, it turned out that the thread on the drain plug was on its last legs, so they cut the next size and screwed in a new plug.

During the week I made a trip to Krasnoyarsk and back. A little over 1000 km. The level, as it stood at the top risk of the probe, remained the same. Very pleased. Then again change the oil to Shell Helix 5v30. After that, I drove already one and a half thousand km, again with a trip to Krasnoyarsk, most of the way with a cruising speed of 110-120 km / h. Oil consumption in fact was about a quarter between the minimum and maximum risks. Didn't even top up. In urban mode, there will obviously be no more consumption. Based on my experience, I concluded that in fact 2AZ is not at all voracious on oil. Coking depends on what is poured into it and how fast they drive. By the way, after changing the oil, I filled in the XADO additive with a guaranteed mileage of 100,000 km. Despite the fact that this is not a very cheap revitalizant, I am already pouring into my fourth car and am only happy with the effect. After a break-in, the engine runs smoother, spins easier and the power clearly increases, by 5 percent for sure. Don't think I'm advertising. I'm stating a fact. I myself used to be skeptical about additives, until at our work they began to fill in a similar device (but not Xado) into the lubricant of the turbocharger bearings and their overrun increased. After that, our techies began to pour into their cars. And after scrolling through the reviews on the Internet for various similar compositions, I settled on this one, which I do not regret at all.

The second problem that had to be overcome was the constant presence of moisture, almost a swamp in the trunk underground. I dried it a couple of times, but the water came again. Since the water itself did not find the source of penetration, and a more in-depth examination was possible only with the removal of the trunk lining and floor covering, I agreed with the music and alarm installers. They are specialists in working with sheathing, they agreed to work out. At the same time I ordered the installation of sound insulation under the trunk lining and on the rear arches. Special Vladimir, thank you very much, he worked hard for two and a half days. I found the leak almost by accident. They didn’t run through the roof rails (as I myself thought), from under the rubber bands - the flaps from the bottom of the trunk too. It turned out that the car was hit in the right rear side, not so much and restored well, outwardly you will not see anything. Only traces of straightening are barely visible from the inside. As a result, the repairmen did not dock the right taillight tightly to the body, and through the drainage from the roof, along the edge of the rear door, it entered the passenger compartment through the seals of the lantern. After processing the headlight seal with a heat-resistant sealant (and processed the left headlight too, so that they do not differ), the problem with moisture is a thing of the past. Gluing 8 mm soundproofing (the master said that he had recently started using a new lightweight material) of the sidewalls of the body and arches from the inside, as well as the trunk, helped to significantly reduce the noise level, especially from the wheels and suspension. And fixing the air duct hanging in the right niche near the arch eliminated the rattling constantly arising on the bumps. In general, for 9 and a half thousand rubles, the effect turned out just wonderful. Now I rate the level of sound insulation in the car at 4 plus. It used to be - with a big minus.

From other things.

In the summer I changed the oil in the rear gear ZIC 5W-90. Already in the fall - Kashiyama D2269 rear brake pads, the old ones were at the limit of wear. Tail bearing for propeller shaft Toyota 90363-95003. The latter fell into complete disrepair due to the ingress of dirt (it is not clear how, since the outer seal was intact). And initially, from the moment of buying the car, an indefinite rumble was heard from behind, I thought the wheel bearing began to die. And so it went on for several months until in September I drove 90 km to Abakan along the highway 80 km from the city, the rattle became suddenly menacingly loud, I had to slow down to 50-40 km / h. But somehow the bearing gnashed strangely, it doesn’t look like it was from the hub. Then suddenly the rattle disappeared. I went on business, but on the way back, the rattle appeared from time to time. The service found the source of the noise. But they said that a special puller is required, which is not available everywhere. In another, a puller was found and the bearing was successfully replaced, the original was bought in the store: 1700 - bearing, 1200 - replacement with disconnecting the cardan shaft from the gearbox.

Along the way, it turned out that my driveshaft cross was decently worn out, the source of the sometimes appearing clicks when starting in reverse immediately became clear. Rummaged through a bunch of information about the replacement of crosspieces. I understood only one thing, that changing without a cardan assembly is a risk if it is not done on a balancing machine, and this is a rarity. Now in thought about ordering a cardan shaft assembly. Ordinary spare parts stores accept such orders from us. While I go, as is.

Painted the hood. There are a lot of chips left from the previous owners. Polishing didn't help. The paint shop did a good job: in color and without shagreen. I bought a fly swatter for carbon fiber on the hood. Discharged from Novosibirsk under the order. Looks great.

Let me summarize. Taking into account the work performed and improvements, the ravik has risen in its assessment for me due to the additional comfort when moving and improving performance. Yes, the suspension has not become softer, but the soundtrack of its work is heard less. The sound of the spikes on the 700 Blizzack is almost like summer tires. Another thing I like about this car is a large niche under the raised boot floor. In the Japanese version of the long RAV4, under the name Vanquard, the third row of seats is hidden there. Of course, this is due to the fact that the spare tire hangs on the back door. However, the sacrifice in aesthetics from the outside is not great for the sake of such a capacity inside. I have not seen other SUVs of this size with such a spacious underground. It is very convenient to store a bunch of useful things for a motorist. This is roughly similar to the underground in Ipsum, only the form is different.

According to the consumption of gasoline. I already wrote that the differences from the 2-liter standard counterpart are negligible. In summer - from 9 to 10.5 liters per hundred, depending on speed and load. In winter: highway 10.5 - 11, city / countryside - up to 13 liters or a little more. Moreover, a computer flow meter underestimates by an average of a liter, more in the city, less on the highway. I pour gasoline - 92nd, only occasionally I flavor it with 95th. I tried purely 95th, the difference in dynamics is barely noticeable, in terms of consumption - not noticeable. For the price, it's noticeable. The quality is questionable. For me, the conclusion is clear.

On this, I say goodbye until the replenishment of the piggy bank of useful information and subsequent communication with you about this.

On the picture:

1-2 photos RAV4.

3-4 installed sound insulation

2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 13
2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 14
2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 15
2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 16

300 is on the way

Good day. It's been almost 4 years since the last expansion. 70,000 km were added on the odometer and only three thousand remained before the end of the second lap. Ravchik never let me down, he required investments, but all replacements are age-related, i.e. understandable. However, first things first.

The previous addition ended with the fact that at 137 thousand, he performed the decoking of the piston rings with the cleaning of the combustion chamber. Oil consumption, of course, decreased, but not as dramatically as expected. It stabilized at the level of 1.8-2 liters of Shell 5W30 synthetics per 10 thousand km. Moreover, it did not depend much on the mode of movement. Much later, I read special articles that the decoking fluid in the combustion chamber does not reach the oil scraper rings, which are located at the bottom of the piston. After 50 thousand km, I decided to repeat the operation using LAVR ML-202 fluid. Gary, after starting the engine, flew out many times less, which indicated a weak degree of soot in the combustion chamber. But the oil consumption for waste has not changed. I recently read on the Drome about Toyota engines. It was just written about 2AZ-FE that 150-200 ml per 1000 km is the norm for him. Given the fact that the mileage is already solid, I took it for granted and no longer worry. I only add oil from time to time.

At 139 thousand - scheduled cleaning of the throttle.

On the 140th - the replacement of the windshield (the cracks came from the previous owners). Japanese for 20 thousand was greedy to put, chose Chinese for 3.5 thousand. A month later, when it froze to almost - 30, a crack went from a fresh chip, 15 centimeters in length. Down the middle of the glass, parallel to the bottom edge. I was able to screw it up right away. But he rejoiced early. Also, in the cold, when driving, the bumps cracked already on a large scale again in the lower part, but it’s good that, according to the review from the passenger compartment, it turned out to be no higher than the edge of the hood. Apparently there was tension in the glass and it was removed with a crack. That's Chinese quality. But I pass inspection with no problems. The review does not interfere. Left as is. God forbid there will be serious damage, then we will replace it.

141 thousand - replacement of the Kashiyama front brake pads. At the same time, I replaced the brake fluid with Lukoil DOT4. Obviously no one has changed it before me.

Scheduled replacements of engine oil, oil and air filters will be omitted every 9-10 thousand km.

At 156,000 I put Dunlop Grandtrack SJ6 winter wheels (I bought almost new ones at a good discount). You can't show the miracles of winter piloting on them, like on Hakka. But quite predictable and excellent rowing in the snow. With enviable wear resistance. For three winters, the tread is more than half intact.

For 161 thousand replacement of the Tyumen Asia 75Ah battery. He has been serving for almost three years so far.

He also wrote about his problem with the propeller shaft cross. I found a good firm in Chernogorsk. It's a little over 100 km from me. At 162 thousand decided to change. In the service of his city, he removed the cardan. Brought and handed over to replace the crosses. We installed removable crosses Amiwa 21 * 53 for 9.5 thousand with balancing. 2 crosses with retaining rings cost 6 thousand rubles. The problem has been removed. While driving for several days on a clean front-wheel drive without a cardan shaft, I had to carefully work with the gas pedal - the front wheels sometimes slipped into slip.

At the 165th thousand, the time has come to replace the front silent blocks of the front levers (the relatives have worn out). Because the sound of the rear suspension on the gravel road and potholes began to resemble the shaking of a loose bundle of firewood. After the examination, I had to change the upper wishbones of the rear suspension (set by ASWA, Taiwan). There are floating silent blocks in these levers and it will not be possible to change them separately. Looking ahead, these levers were not enough for a long time. After 30 thousand km, new ones had to be installed. I chose another company - Arm bush (also Taiwan). Let's see how long it takes.

At the 169th thousand, the turn of the tensioner and the alternator belt came (the tensioner began to make an appropriate sound, and the belt - according to the state).

At the 170th thousand, during the next engine oil change, I also replaced the automatic transmission oil with a filter by partial draining, and the oil of the rear axle gearbox.

At the 180th thousand, I replaced the spark plugs (the previous ones worked for 50 thousand km and looked like they were still working).

At the 184th thousand, Denso's native starter was covered. It took a long time, however. True Japanese quality. Although I do not exclude that a long life was given to the starter by a push-button start of the engine. The starter probably died from an internal short circuit. Shortly before his death, he refused to start the first time a couple of times, then, after being hit with a hammer, he earned it. I ordered the Russian analogue Start Volt LSt1902 to replace it. On the second day at work after the next start of the engine, I felt a strange sound from under the hood. It got louder as it picked up speed. With a strange sound, I drove several hundred meters until I smelled and smoked from under the hood. I had to urgently remove the terminals from the battery. Then the starter supply wire and I had to use a friend's car as a tractor for towing to the service station. Sentence: sticking of the main contacts of the solenoid relay. To the credit of the store and the service station, which was the same company with it, they didn’t take money for the replacement, the starter was exchanged under warranty. True, I had to wait for a refund of 3 months - the duration of the procedure for recognizing marriage by the manufacturer. Instead, I bought the same Denso. Let it be 50% more expensive, but there are still no problems with it.

On the 196th thousand, the upper wishbones of the rear suspension were replaced again (I wrote above in detail). At the same time, the servicemen sentenced the adjusting rods of the rear suspension, a backlash appeared on the right. Delivered by ST. Also, the next oil change in the gearbox and in the automatic transmission with a filter by mileage.

The rear left bearing hummed at speed. Hub assembly replacement. Chinese factory NSK ZA-58BWKH17E. By the way, the front Chinese hub has been running normally for more than 70 thousand.

This is the whole story of our life together. Let's see how the cards stack up. There is a desire to update the car. Although I feel sorry for my Ravchik. Reliable unit. Although I’m not completely used to the rigidity of the rear suspension on rough roads, the track impressions deliver completely positive emotions.

On the picture:

1 - almost new cardan,

2- a new set of parts for levers and rods before replacement on the rear suspension,

3 and 4 - photo session,

5 - two different generations with a difference of 11 years.

2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 17
2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 18
2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 19
2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 20
2009 Toyota RAV4 Review #44 - SUV, petrol engine, 2.4 l., 170 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 21

Mileage: 80547 mi. (129600 km.)

Fuel consumption on the highway:

  • 21 miles per gallon (US)
  • 26 miles per gallon (UK)
  • 11.6 l/100km

Category: 2009 Toyota RAV4 Reviews

Author: Picnicovod

Views: 101

57
23

Comments

23
Add a comment
S
Sergey 2022-02-19 (05:42)

Excellent Rafik. I've been running the same one for over 3 years now. There are no major problems with the car. Good luck to you in the future.

P
Picnicovod 2022-02-19 (05:42)

Thank you

S
Sergey 2021-11-25 (18:04)

Departure for six years on such a 2007 RAV. Now the question of choosing another car has become, and I see no other alternative, how to buy the same 11-12g.v. The only thing that stops is soundproofing. I did it myself on my own. I don’t feel like it the second time, but I’m not ready to give money to other people’s uncles for the service. Can anyone suggest what to look for. Because I want it not to break, not a vario, no more than 200 hp

P
Picnicovod 2021-11-10 (23:53)

Good afternoon. Thanks for the helpful advice. I did not understand a little that it is necessary to send by mail. cardan assembly to replace the cross?

A
Aozhogov 2021-10-30 (23:53)

Solved the problem with the cross of the cardan? I will share my experience: I have a Long 2010 glda (1st restyling), there was a strong backlash in the rear cardan cross and a small one in the front, mileage 120,000 km, cardan specialists (we have such cantors in Novosibirsk) looked, they said either to do or better without a cardan ride, I finally repaired it today - they replaced both crosses, balanced, installed (it took a little more than 2 hours), on the road I checked everything was fine in motion, the crosses were installed by Japanese GMB GUT-24 22 * ​​57.5, I paid 8300 rubles for everything Full construction. Guarantee 6 months, they said that judging by the reviews 100-120 t.km, their crosses go. Original crosses are sold only assembled with a cardan - more than 70 tr. Contract cardan 10-20 tr, but it's a pig in a poke. In general, if you didn’t, then keep in mind this option for solving the problem. If necessary, I will write the name of the cantor, as I understand it, you can send them by mail, they will do it and send it back.

P
Picnicovod 2021-08-18 (05:42)

About Shumkov forgot to write. Engine noise is better on RAV. And with additional processing of doors at low speeds, the RAV is noticeably quieter. Sometimes I get out of the RAV and forget to turn off the engine, the squeaker reminds me. However, on the track - about the same. At the Picnic, there is a quiet Yokohama, at the RAV - an all-season, which, at speed, brings an additional rumble to which it is used. If there was a highway, I think it would be quieter.

P
Picnicovod 2021-08-16 (05:42)

I read about the increased oil consumption of the 2.4 liter engine before. But when the same 2.0 oil practically "only sniffs", then you expect a similar result, but otherwise makes you think about preventive actions. About the expense. I believe that it is possible to reach the figure of 15 liters or more. Everything is dictated by the conditions of movement. I live in a small town with no traffic jams. This also affects the average consumption. Once again, these are natural measurements from neck to neck in different driving modes and different weather conditions.

K
Karinovod80 2021-08-16 (05:42)

Author and how are the pendants of a rav and a picnic? Picnic softer? Shumka and generally comfort where better?

A
Aleksey 2021-08-16 (05:42)

Why would it make the situation worse? Lew mobil 5 to 40, add 1-1.5 to 10 thousand, they advised me to switch to idemitsu 5 to 30. I'm scratching my head, how to be.

A
Aleksey 2021-08-16 (05:42)

I drive my Camry with this engine from scratch, mileage is 227,000, and almost topped up from a field to a liter.

Add a comment