2008 Toyota RAV4 Review #6

2021-05-21
6
6
Toyota RAV4 Review

Specifications:

  • 2008 Toyota RAV4
  • Vehicle Year: 2008
  • SUV
  • 3rd generation
  • Petrol engine, 2 l., 152 horsepower
  • Four-wheel drive
  • Automatic
  • Steering wheel Left

Consumer Report

I wrote a review like that, disappeared somewhere ... I will be brief, without lyrics. I didn't take a photo, and I don't see the point in them. It's June 2021, I've owned it since September 2017. City and highway operation. I don't carry large loads or trailers.

The engine and gearbox are simple and reliable, there are no questions to them. For 48 thousand km of my run, I didn’t touch them (I periodically changed the oil pressure sensor, oil flowed from it and it seemed that the head gasket was leaking). 2.0 is enough for fast driving around the city, not for the highway. There is no normal overtaking without resetting to 3rd gear (there are 4 gears in total). Well, if there are 3 more passengers uphill, then more than 100 km h is almost unrealistic for him. Not loaded on a flat road 3 thousand rpm turns at 125 km / h. High ground clearance and short front. and ass. rounded overhangs help out a lot, forgiving mistakes many times. Four-wheel drive along with studded tires - and in winter, like on asphalt when starting from a standstill.

I repaired the steering rack, as I bought a car, they installed a repair kit, which creaks when heated, but this is not critical. If you have to choose between repair and replacement - definitely repair! I also changed the rear drive seals when buying a car. I had no problems with the clutch, with the cordan too. Annual repair of the hodovka - some kind of rubber bands and silent blocks. Replacing the front struts was 38 thousand kilometers of my run. Soon it will be time for brake discs.

Fuel consumption. I consider it important to indicate how I measured: the tank is 55l, the gas station is always nearby, how the light comes on (the balance is 10l) - I fill it with 45l and reset the odometer. As a result, in the summer in the city about 13l / 100. Winter consumption is a complex issue. When the car lived on the street (up to minus 20-25 degrees), I warmed it up with autostart 1-2 times per night and before leaving. Consumption was 20l/100! When I installed the boiler and bought a parking space (at minus 20 there minus 10-12), the consumption became 14-15l / 100 in the city. I did not have a chance to change the consumption on the highway - about 9-10l / 100. If anything, I don’t believe the computer board. As you can see, the consumption is generally high for 2.0 - the car is old, the electronics are simple. Therefore, I thought about gas ... and changed my mind, with my mileage of 16 thousand / year, the gas will pay off in 3 years.

Salon: wooden and relatively explosive. There is no soundproofing (it feels like I did not open the interior). Rear passengers above 165cm are cramped (I am 170cm, it is very difficult for a person 170cm tall to sit behind me). Thanks to the spare wheel on the 5th door, there is enough space in the trunk.

Body: good paintwork and strong glass. I recommend a fly swatter on the hood - without it, I have the entire front edge of the hood in chips. Headlights are weak.

Due to the wide prevalence of problems with the choice of spare parts and repairs, there are no. Mechanics love old Toyotas. There are also no liquidity problems, sell for the same money you bought, not counting costs and inflation.

Consumption

drove 1107km on 115l - consumption 10.4 (640km of highway, the rest is the city), summer is 18-26 degrees of heat.

Howl (hum) at a speed of 50-60 km / h

I have owned a car since 2017 - since then, at 50-60 km / h, when I press the gas pedal, I hear a howling rumble, which disappears closer to 60 km / h. You remove the gas - there is no rumble. I drove with this hum for almost 50 thousand km, and nothing ... before that I was looking for a reason on the Internet: in the end I decided that everyone didn’t need to bathe like that (these are definitely not hub, cardan and rear gearbox with a clutch - people checked, but I don’t want to climb into the automatic transmission and razdatka for the sake of it). Who also has this noise?

Sold

I wouldn’t sell it, but inflation was growing rapidly, I wanted a fresh car, and sold it in December 2021. For the price it's ok. But the car was in excellent condition.


Year of car purchase: 2017

Mileage: 88875 mi. (143000 km.)

Fuel consumption on the highway:

  • 26 miles per gallon (US)
  • 31 miles per gallon (UK)
  • 9.5 l/100km

Fuel consumption in the city:

  • 18 miles per gallon (US)
  • 22 miles per gallon (UK)
  • 13.5 l/100km

Category: 2008 Toyota RAV4 Reviews

Author: Dorbb

Views: 106

6
6

Comments

6
Add a comment
S
Sergey-petrov 2022-05-02 (12:30)

Good day everyone. As a workhorse, this RAV is fine. It has enough minuses, a cramped interior, not a very comfortable fit for the driver, not ideal in terms of reliability (now as a service car, the mileage is 230,000 km, okay, they drive there without sparing, but the steering wheel is 120,000 km, the timing belt tension roller, the pump is 90 000 km - I'm surprised). Although I never got up on the road, the engine works fine, playfulness (if applicable for RAV 4) is present. You can already see its archaism. But in the stream of news, grant, chreev - hearty.

S
Sergey-petrov 2022-05-02 (12:30)

The back door, the luggage compartment on all Rav 2008 sing songs, grease, tape on the hinges helps but temporarily. Plus accompaniment from the trunk, everything that lies there. So to call this device quiet, it does not work out much.

K
Kr-ut 2021-07-04 (12:30)

The most sensible review of all about all cars.

A
Archi 2021-05-31 (12:30)

Owned Rav-4 for more than 6 years, a wonderful car! I agree with everything in the review, except for the explosiveness of the cabin, for 6 years there were two crickets and then in winter, no more extraneous sounds, the plastic is hard but not the worst in texture .... 2.0 liters was always enough and everywhere, if you go with your head, with consumption plus or minus how it turned out for you, there was a consumption record of 7.2, but I drove no more than 90-100, eats a lot around the city !!! Crostreck, I thought that I was flying on a cornfield)))

D
Dorbb 2021-05-31 (12:30)

maybe my salon was sorted out (there was a bit in the ass) and the noise was not returned to its place, so it rattles

1
12378 2021-05-21 (12:30)

A work colleague has the same one. Squeaks with delight.

Add a comment