2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #69

2022-03-16
34
18
2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #69 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 150 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 1

Specifications:

  • 2002 Toyota RAV4
  • Vehicle Year: 2002
  • SUV
  • 2 generation
  • Petrol engine, 2 l., 150 horsepower
  • Four-wheel drive
  • Automatic
  • Steering wheel Left
  • 2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #69 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 150 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 1
  • 2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #69 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 150 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 2
  • 2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #69 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 150 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 3
  • 2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #69 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 150 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 4
  • 2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #69 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 150 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 5
  • 2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #69 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 150 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 6
  • 2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #69 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 150 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 7

Expand

Collapse

Consumer Report

Hi everyone. I own Toyota RAV4 II 2002, blue, European for more than 10 years, mileage is more than 230 thousand, so I have something to say. --- they don't make them like that anymore. Yes, there were problems with the ECU (there were few official sales in Russia) Toyota placed an order for them in Taiwan from Denso, and local cross-eyes used acid-shit solder when desoldering and over time the soldering dried out and the contact disappeared AND EVERYTHING !!!!!! !! There are no more pains. About the drive --- small Prado 120th, in winter on the track it is "iron on asphalt", but of course with a choice of good winter studs. Why He: I live in Tomsk, Siberia, 9 - 8 months winter conditions or close to them, therefore 4 HP and only an honest permanent drive, and not everything else because of saving a couple of liters. I wanted the 120th, but to carry one Zh., and even in the city, is not economical and you can’t be smart with its dimensions. For the service staff: changing oil, filters no later than 10 thousand mileage, the first replacement in the automatic transmission was carried out by me at 90 thousand and it was light and without the smell of "burnt garlic" - that is, it was still working with might and main, the next ones also every 80 thousand. Although Toyota fills times and according to the "Talmud" for the entire period of operation, and a locksmith in various "farms" claims 40-60 thousand km. I regularly check the probe, how the shift starts to get dark, then everyone decides for himself. Suspension: reliable, "eggs" consumption even in the city, blurted out --- for replacement, first replacement of the front struts with a little over 100 for Kayaba, rear about 140 or so, brake discs are still native, but machined at 180 thousand, replaced right rear hub also at this time. I changed the brake pads a couple of times for all the time for some kind of Japanese ... moto, I don’t remember. A couple of years ago, the glass of the left headlight began to become cloudy. Engine: ............. pah pah pah. I cleaned the roller of the idle speed sensor with electric sound and the throttle valve by 150. ALL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The rest is just mini-tuning: replacing the head unit with a TV and navigation, installing a flat subwoofer under your seat, rear-view cameras, covers. The farthest trip to the Crimea. Changed the oil, filter, fluid and go with his wife. And even the thought of no "back" does not arise that you can not get to point B. Thanks to everyone who read it, good luck with choosing a car and less problems with its attendants, I wish you all good health in our time.


Year of car purchase: 2010

Mileage: 145432 mi. (234000 km.)

Fuel consumption on the highway:

  • 24 miles per gallon (US)
  • 28 miles per gallon (UK)
  • 10.0 l/100km

Category: 2002 Toyota RAV4 Reviews

Author: Viktor70

Views: 120

34
18

Comments

18
Add a comment
I
Id-22 2022-03-26 (12:16)

Hello .. Tell me, does he have a permanent drive? Not disabled? Is there a blockage or a downgrade?

V
Viktor70 2022-03-26 (12:16)

The drive is a constant torso front and rear, there are no locks and lowers like the Prado, there are only two additional positions 2 and L. Position 2 is a constant position of the box in 1st and not higher than 2nd gear, used for engine braking on slopes and serpentines, transporting a trailer, of an emergency vehicle, at a speed not exceeding 40 km / h, position L is only 1st gear, it is used for engine braking on steep descents, for driving through mud and other difficult shit (without fanaticism), although it is not crawling on the "belly" yet sit down. There is an O/D overdrive button on the shift knob for overdrive.

A
Andrey_msk 2022-03-18 (12:16)

Good car, super reliable. The very same, only an American in 2001. Mileage today is 408,000 km. Of the serious problems - I went through the box for 270,000 km and the steering rack for 400,000 km.

S
Spoke11 2022-03-17 (12:16)

.." Engine: ............. pah pah pah. I cleaned the idle speed sensor roller with electric sound and the throttle valve at 150. EVERYTHING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!! The rest is just a mini-tuning.."... If the mileage of your car is real, and this is an average of 36 km per day in the city ...)), then why be surprised that the engine whispers .. 230 thousand km for an old-style Toyota with good service is normal ..))

A
Andrey 2022-02-15 (12:30)

Girl, yours, from Chikoya?

S
San 2022-02-11 (12:30)

Why are there two bridges? There are 12 months in a year. if in Omsk there are 9 months of winter, then 1 month is spring, 1 is summer, and 1 is autumn? So what? You are a storyteller

2
24132429 2021-10-20 (12:30)

Hello, I'm from Gorno-Altaisk, I just can't contact you,

2
24132429 2021-10-20 (12:30)

Hello, I'm from Gorny-Altai, I wanted to know how to get in touch with you about the car. Please give me a phone number if you can I liked your car.

V
Viktor70 2021-10-20 (12:30)

I like it too until I sell it.

V
Viktor70 2021-10-20 (12:30)

This week I changed the front brake discs, pads all around, revised the calipers, did everything myself in the garage. I don’t post photos, because there was no time, and the Internet is full of this. as always with a Russian peasant, until the rooster is .... well, it always is. The left front caliper unexpectedly jammed and 5 meters from the garage door, after traveling around the city, a block flew out, a good handbrake. An autopsy showed: a groove is required on the reverse side of the left disk, the replacement of the front pads, the bulkhead of the guide pins and the cylinder of the front calipers, everything is buzzing behind. You can’t go anywhere to the service station, you had to do it yourself. I bought additional keys, thinking, I ordered Sangsin (Korea) front discs (Korea), front and rear pads, lubricants, a repair kit for front and rear calipers (when they were last replaced, the locksmith lost some kind of spring, which they don’t remember). I'm not a locksmith, so after reading the topics and training videos, I concluded "What are not Gods ..." and so on. The pads were "Advix" all around, on the back one could still ride and ride, BUT, since such a booze has gone, it's not every day I'm a locksmith. I replaced them, THEY worked out their work, they went through more than 80 thousand and there are no complaints about Advix, beyond praise, they slow down reliably, they don’t turn glassy, ​​they don’t especially dust (it was a little after installation and during intensive use). I bled the brakes with my wife. So what I used: Vmpauto1502Grease for calipers, universal "Ms 1600", 50g Issued 1 pc. x 441 ₽441 ₽ TS-0021785, Nakhimov Pickup11 NOVEMBER 18:56Toyota Rav 4 II 2.0 4WD Bosch1 987 479 107 Brake fluid dot 4, "BRAKE FLUID", 1 l Issued 1 pc. x 522 ₽522 ₽ TC 0005861, Pickup"Nakhimov"08 NOVEMBER 05:08Toyota Rav 4 II 2.0 4WD SatST-47715-22130 Caliper guide toyota mark2 98- fr Issued 2 pcs. x 107 ₽214 ₽ TC-0021608, Pickup"Nakhimov"07 NOVEMBER 06:58Toyota Rav 4 II 2.0 4WD SatST-47715-60010 Caliper guide Issued 2 pcs. x 111 ₽222 ₽ SatST-47715-60020 Caliper guide fr toyota mark 2 98 Removed 2 pcs. x 93 ₽186 ₽ TC-0021573, Pickup"Nakhimov"05 NOVEMBER 15:14 MilesEB00005 Caliper Grease, 4g Issued 2 pcs. x 78 ₽156 ₽ TC-0021554, Pickup"Nakhimov"05 NOVEMBER 07:40Toyota Rav 4 II 2.0 4WD SatST-63-0016 Caliper repair kit fr toyota rav4 aca2# 00- (for 2 calipers) Issued 1 pc. x 350 ₽350 ₽ TC-0021491, Pickup"Nakhimov"03 NOVEMBER 07:30Toyota Rav 4 II 2.0 4WD SangsinSD4050Front brake disc Issued 2 pcs. x 1 653 ₽3 306 ₽ TS-0021382, Nakhimov pickup31 OCTOBER 12:49Toyota Rav 4 II 2.0 4WD AkyotoAKD-1447 Disc brake pads, set Issued 1 pc. x 987 ₽987 ₽ CheryT11-BJ3501080Rear disc brake pads Issued 1 pc. x 423 ₽423 ₽ 6 621 ₽ I ordered everything on existential --- not advertising !!!!! Ride, multitroniks showed an error of the right lower oxygen sensor, for the second time, the first time I changed it in the summer - the left one was also lower-consumables. In the summer I ordered 2 such sensors on alishka, read the topics and realized they need to be changed every 100 thousand mileage, and here it’s more than 200 thousand. It is inconvenient to change in the garage without a pit, they changed it in the service station. After replacing the first, I reset the error with multitronics, after replacing the second, I didn’t have to reset it. I took these: Oxygen sensor Lambda 89465-42090 8946542090. Well, that's all for now, I'll add if I have free time. Good luck and health to all.

Add a comment