2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #468

2021-07-04
13
32
2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #468 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 1152 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 1

Specifications:

  • 2002 Toyota RAV4
  • Vehicle Year: 2002
  • SUV
  • 2 generation
  • Petrol engine, 2 l., 1152 horsepower
  • Four-wheel drive
  • Automatic
  • Steering wheel Right
  • 2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #468 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 1152 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 1
  • 2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #468 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 1152 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 2
  • 2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #468 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 1152 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 3
  • 2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #468 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 1152 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 4
  • 2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #468 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 1152 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 5

Expand

Collapse

Consumer Report

Hello! I read a lot of reviews on Drom o RAV 4, and decided to talk about my horse.

To begin with, I have ridden many things: Platz, 21099, 2109, sable, UAZ, Chevy Niva and much more. One day it was time to change your "student" Platz for something more spacious and comfortable. Options such as Avensis 99, Avensis 2003, Camry 2003 were considered, but his father, by that time he had a 2001 RAV 4 (American), offered to take the RAV from a friend. Right hand drive is not embarrassed, arranged equipment. And it included climate control, native touch radio, standard navigation, four-wheel drive and automatic, arch extensions, a spoiler, some tricky seat upholstery (not hot in summer, not cold in winter), wide tires 235/60/16. Machine liked at first sight. In May 2009, she cost 520 wooden ones. But it was worth it. Although the car stood in the garage (dry) for more than a year before the sale, it started up with a half-kick and drove off. I will not describe the impressions of the transfer from Platz to RAV. I'll tell you about the established feelings after 2 years of ownership.

Engine.

Many scold 1AZ-FSE (it is also hated by many D4), complain about the huge fuel and oil consumption. I don't see such problems. Consumption on tires TOYO Trancepath in the summer was about 8.5-9.0 liters in the city. Due to circumstances, while riding on Maxxis 235/60/16, the consumption is about 10. In general, fuel consumption does not scare me, for 152 horses and all-wheel drive it is not critical. The engine does not ask for oil. I change it every 10,000 km. I should do more, but I forget.

Suspension.

no complaints. I forgot what it is to "squint" on bumps.

Transmission

Four-wheel drive is power. And also permanent. Excellent cross-country ability due to the short base, high overhangs and short bumpers.

Salon.

There are several complaints here. Everyone knows about the shelf in the back. I just removed it, because it creaks even while in my hands, not like on the road. And, unfortunately, a few crickets in the panel started up on our roads. A little more annoying orange backlight. Plans to convert to white. Our navigation is still not working. More precisely, it works, but there are no maps for Russia, it always shows that you are swimming around Japan. The seats are very comfortable. Rear passengers don't complain either.

Extremely happy with the car, I wouldn't trade it for anything.

Thank you for your time.

P.S. If I remember anything else, I will add a review. And I'll post a photo.

exploitation

Hello again. Mileage is growing in connection with this, there is a need to change the front stabilizer bushings, front stabilizer links, rear shock absorbers. I bought stabilizer bushings for 220 rubles apiece, links for 360 rubles apiece. Haven't bought shock absorbers yet. Replacement is not difficult. But you need at least a pit, and the lift is generally super. To replace the bushings, unscrew 2 bolts on the stabilizer. Mine opened up with a bang. The thread is clean and not rusty. Here with links there was an incident. Since there is something like a ball nut, the stuck nut did not want to unscrew, the internal hexagon turned out to be torn off. I had to cut the links. On the new ones, a nut was welded on, they are screwed and unscrewed easily, even without a hole. It is enough to lift the car and remove the wheel. The rear shock absorbers are no problem either.

exploitation

Completely forgot. Rafael (that's his name in the family) is especially liked in this body. In my opinion, it is most consistent with the concept of an SUV, namely: the wheels of the car are placed at the corners of the body, which has a positive effect on the stability of the car, high bumpers, expanders suit him! In the spring, trouble happened - I caught 2 stones with a windshield. Outcome: 2 chips. It's a shame, but what can you do. And the other day, in the parking lot near work, some radishes, opening their doors, beavered me 2 doors. The anger of the sea, and the result is zero, washed off without a twinge of conscience. oh well, the earth is round. Good luck to all!

for winter

once in a cold winter sometimes ...... more precisely, not so. Background. Overwintered two winters on startup, sometimes in the garage. But the moment of truth has come. Moved to Tyrgan. No wonder it translates as a mountain of winds. In general, I believed the thermometer, which showed -20, and did not put the car on warming up. In the morning it turned out that at night the wind was blowing in the face. And despite the lattice closed with cardboard, the engine froze tightly. Rather, in the morning the car tried to start from auto start, filled the candles and that's it. Due to the wind, the engine froze very deeply, the candle key lowered into the well for unscrewing the candle was covered with frost. In general, it started up only after 1.5 hours in a warm room under a heat gun and only with the replacement of all the candles. Well, it's my own fault. In general, I scratched my turnips and remembered that in the fall I bought a 1.5 kW Severs-M preheater. Urgently put it in an armful and to the station. It is installed in 20 minutes. All adapters and pipes are included. Now there are no problems. I got up in the morning, plugged the car into a socket (for this purpose, an extension cord with a frost-resistant cable was purchased) and while I washed and shaved, the temperature of the engine in the working area, even the stove blows warm. The only negative is that there should be an outlet at a distance of 20 m))

couple photo

2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #468 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 1152 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 6
2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #468 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 1152 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 7
2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #468 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 1152 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 8
2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #468 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 1152 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 9
2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #468 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 1152 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 10
2002 Toyota RAV4 Review #468 - SUV, 2 generation, petrol engine, 2 l., 1152 horsepower, Four-wheel drive, automatic | Consumer Report, photo 11

Fuel consumption on the highway:

  • 29 miles per gallon (US)
  • 35 miles per gallon (UK)
  • 8.5-12 l/100km

Category: 2002 Toyota RAV4 Reviews

Author: Laparb

Views: 115

13
32

Comments

32
Add a comment
A
Andr-93 2022-02-06 (09:46)

Good afternoon, when the engine heating was installed, where is the drain plug located, do not tell me ???

I
Igor-bogdanov 2022-01-10 (23:53)

this "driver" underestimated fuel consumption by almost two. yap

1
11518003 2022-01-10 (23:53)

And he will be rude to his cellmate if you don’t get tired. It is written in Russian in white: when driving 60 km / h, it’s really possible to meet 9 liters in the city. Unless, of course, the car isn't crazy. At 80 km/h 10 liters. But it's "nauseous" and "retired". I rode it for 8 years. And I can build graphs of consumption for each kilometer. pissed off

K
Kungurtsevsergey 2021-08-14 (09:46)

Guys! Can anyone tell me the box number? RAV4 02. 2002, American.

L
Lovi-v 2021-08-07 (09:46)

countryman 5

M
Maks22 2021-07-26 (09:46)

by the way, an interesting fact, I very rarely use the rear window wiper on my raf, the bale does not splash it very much, probably because of the spare wheel

V
Vlad43 2021-07-15 (09:46)

Well, I don’t agree with my 174, Rav is just an apartment) The spaces in it are unmeasurable.

L
Laparb 2021-07-14 (09:46)

fog immediately stood. As far as I know, even if there are no fogs, as a rule, the Japanese still lay the wiring for them. It remains only to insert them and connect. Look under the main headlights there should be fog wires attached.

M
Maks22 2021-07-13 (09:46)

such a car itself has fire. drive and rejoice, did you have fog lights on the bumper right away when you bought it, or did you connect it yourself, tell me how to turn them on?

G
Genemoss 2021-07-13 (09:46)

It's funny that after 3 years the same car began to cost 600 thousand rubles. (average price for 2002 in Vladivostok).

Add a comment